In 1989 Richard Dawkins published The Selfish Gene, first putting forth the idea of the meme:  “We need a name for the new replicator, a noun that conveys the idea of a unit of cultural transmission, or a unit ofimitation. ‘Mimeme’ comes from a suitable Greek root, but I want a monosyllable that sounds a bit like ‘gene’. I hope my classicist friends will forgive me if I abbreviate mimeme to meme. If it is any consolation, it could alternatively be thought of as being related to ‘memory’, or to the French word même. It should be pronounced to rhyme with ‘cream’.”

I, Bellepo, have created a meme of my puppy dog Secret Agent Bean.  These are pictures from when the currently large man was still a wee puppy and having good times sleeping on my bed.   I used the caption “To Sleep, Perchance to Dream” from Hamlet’s famous “To be or not to be” soliloquy for the fit and for the irony.  Enjoy!

